Do Savannnah

Review

 

Review: Fifth ‘Pirates of the Caribbean’ flick forced to fight bloat

24 May 2017

The opening scene of the new “Pirates of the Caribbean” is a fitting metaphor for where we stand in this long franchise: A creaky old galleon is unceremoniously yanked up from the ocean depths and the only things aboard are cranky old ghosts.

 
 

Review: Even The Rock’s biceps can’t lift up ‘Baywatch’

24 May 2017

Of this, dear moviegoer, rest assured: Dwayne Johnson’s biceps still ripple and glisten in the sunlight. So do his triceps, pecs, abs, delts, quads, lats and the other 600 or so muscles of the human body.

 

Review: Pitt goes all out in flawed satire ‘War Machine’

24 May 2017

Here’s a general rule of thumb: If you’re going to rely heavily on voiceover to tell your movie’s story, and exclusively so in the first 15 minutes with an assault of colorful character introductions, you’d do well to make sure the narrator is a compelling one.

 

Review: Bryan Cranston shines in moody, escapist 'Wakefield'

19 May 2017

Have you ever fantasized about one day walking away from your well-ordered life? Just ditching work and the humdrum routine of life? You have? Then, before you go, you need to see the curiously brilliant film "Wakefield."

 

Review: Sniper flick 'The Wall' shoots itself in the foot

12 May 2017

Not long into the film "The Wall," two U.S. soldiers find themselves pinned down by sniper fire in a remote part of Iraq. One gets on the radio and screams, "Requesting extraction!" You'll know the feeling.

 

Review: In 'Alien: Covenant,' a return to gut-busting horror

11 May 2017

Ah, the siren song of John Denver. Who among us can resist it? Certainly, not the crew of the Covenant, a vessel powered by a golden sail cruising through space with 2,000 "colonists" in hyper sleep and years to go until they reach their destination.

 

Review: Guy Ritchie reinvents 'King Arthur' to mixed results

12 May 2017

Deep into Guy Ritchie's "King Arthur: Legend of the Sword," a bad guy who we've never met before informs Arthur (Charlie Hunnam) and his mates that they'd better be at the castle before dark if they want to see "the boy" and "the girl" again. 

 

Review: Timing couldn't be better for doc on Assange

05 May 2017

With all the weighty and momentous issues raised in "Risk," Laura Poitras' fascinating, thorny, and remarkably timely documentary on Julian Assange, one of the more subtly illuminating scenes is about something as inconsequential as a haircut.

 

Review: Rot of American wealth is on 'The Dinner' menu

05 May 2017

It's fitting that the first images you see in the riveting family drama "The Dinner" are of food. 

 

Review: 'Guardians' returns and it's better than the first

28 Apr 2017

In James Gunn's sequel to his swashbuckling space Western, the Guardians of the Galaxy do their version of "The Empire Strikes Back." 

 

Review: Clunky 'Sleight' showcases new lead Jacob Latimore

28 Apr 2017

Perhaps the greatest trick of "Sleight" is how its two charismatic leads magically make its clunky and overwrought elements almost disappear.

 

Review: Love triangle undoes historical epic 'The Promise'

21 Apr 2017

The Armenian Genocide is a curiously unexplored moment in our modern history, cinematically speaking. That fact alone makes director and co-writer Terry George's "The Promise" intriguing enough. 

 

Review: An uneasy mishmash, 'Unforgettable' is forgettable

21 Apr 2017

True story: Right after the final line of "Unforgettable" was uttered, I felt a sudden stinging on the side of my face. Someone in a nearby row at the multiplex had thrown a roasted peanut toward the screen, in what I can only assume was frustration or scorn, and it landed on me.

 

Review: When the bullets fly, 'Free Fire' comes to a crawl

21 Apr 2017

The shootout, often a ballet, is a battle royale in Ben Wheatley's "Free Fire."

 

Review: Emily Dickinson tale 'A Quiet Passion' burns bright

14 Apr 2017

There is something deeply funny and also beautiful about the idea that it would take a British man in his 70s to make the definitive film about one of America's greatest female poets.

 

Review: 'The Lost City of Z' is a mesmerizing adventure

14 Apr 2017

Modest and majestic at once, the films of James Gray patiently burrow their way into the souls of their characters and, maybe, into you. 

 

Review: 'Fate of the Furious' ups action, dials down story

14 Apr 2017

"The Fast and the Furious" hasn't become a billion-dollar global franchise because of its scintillating dialogue and high-minded drama. 

 

Review: Justin Townes Earle offers up originals steeped in tradition at acoustic Savannah Music Fest show

11 Apr 2017

April 7 saw acclaimed singer-songwriter Justin Townes Earle stride onto the stage at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum for his second appearance in five years at the esteemed Savannah Music Festival.

 

Review: Sanam Marvi brings a night of exhilarating Pakistani acoustic music to Savannah

11 Apr 2017

The intimate confines of the Charles H. Morris Center played host to one of the top exponents of traditional Sufi music in the world courtesy of the Savannah Music Festival.

 

Review: Savannah Music Festival is overall educational and endearing

10 Apr 2017

The 28th annual Savannah Music Festival was a global experience, an education with high production value and unique performances, all delivered by some of the most talented living musicians the world over.

 

Review: A lesson in Brazilian music with masters Hermeto Pascoal and Danilo Brito

10 Apr 2017

I have to admit, I chose to review this concert not because I had a tremendous wealth of knowledge about Brazilian music, but rather because I didn’t.

Top